Eric N Jennifer @ 11,000 feet

Pacing back and forth, nervous anticipation exuding form every stoma of my being.  Why I’m nervous, I have no idea.  I’m simply waiting for the most amazing woman in my life to arrive. The one person who manages to put a smile on my face at any time or in any circumstance.  Here I am in the baggage claim of Denver International Airport, just pacing, back and forth.  I can just imagine the scene in the security office. Boss, check out camera 10, this guy is all over the place.  maybe we better get the SWAT team ready! 

A short time later, that felt like an eternity, I look up the hall and see a vision of beauty.  She is running down the hall toward me… Running, in high heels and a lacey black dress.  I start to move towards her, a huge smile on my face.  The scene could have easily come from some silly commercial or one of those girly romance movies.  Two people running towards one another, embracing and kissing each other with obvious passion. 

It has been five weeks since I last held her gorgeous form in my arms, and I simply can’t resist.  especially since this little vacation very nearly didn’t happen.  We had planned everything out for the last three months, yet finding a load to get me to Colorado turned out to be impossible.  I ended up bobtailing, driving without a trailer or load, from Sapulpa, Ok. to Denver.  The company was not too happy about it either, but I won out in the end.

My sister Chris’ Husband, Carl, had picked me up from the truck stop.  Given me a ride to the airport to pick her up, and drive us back to the truck.  We would spend a little time with them when the weekend was over.  Our priority on this night was to get ourselves in my truck and up to Fairplay.  Traffic in Denver was surprisingly heavy at 9:00 PM and it took a little bit to leave the the city lights far behind us.  I weaved my way through the mountain valleys, going up, up, and up.  We stopped on top of Kenosha Pass at about 11:00 Pm.  The night sky was clear, black as velvet and sparked with the glimmer of stars.  I had nearly forgotten how beautiful the night skies are up here.  I inhaled the purity of mountain air, and felt a rejuvenation starting deep inside my spirit.  Before knew it, I was parking at Mom’s house, and getting ready for bed.  I’ll keep the details of that to myself, thank you very much.

Saturday morning, we woke early, eager to start our day. 20140728_070045 Breakfast at Mom’s, and then we had a few scheduled events for the day.  The reason behind this little vacation was my 30 year high school reunion.  There was a meet and greet at the local coffee shop, The Java Moose.  Then we spent the day exploring the Burro Days booths (Local Annual Event) and South Park City (Restored 1880’s Town).  Jennifer and I spent the whole day together, with nothing to do.  It was probably one of the first times ever for us.  We spent the evening with Mom and Kevin, (my brother) and then got ready for the barbeque at Cohen Park. 

To put this reunion into perspective, you have to realize that a successful reunion has an attendance of only 15 percent of 10402374_354335474742730_2524915602459142966_nthe class.  When your graduating class is like mine, 28 people, you have to open things up to other classes also or there would only be 2 or 3 people.  So the entire decade of the 80’s was invited.  we had about 20 people show up.  It was pretty neat to see all the people I grew up with and went to school with so long ago.  Many of us “friended” each other on Facebook and made other connection to stay in contact in the future.  Although the “purpose” of the vacation was the reunion, the best part was spending so much time with Jennifer.

Sunday, we set out to see my old stomping 20140727_121854grounds.  Jennifer and I have a history up here, and it started with the Buckskin Cemetery in Alma.  Naturally we had to return there and explore the tombstones.  The interesting part about old cemeteries are the ages of their residents.  It’s always shocking to me to find so many children.  I know it was a difficult time, and the medical services were simply not available, yet it still 20140727_125630saddens me to see it.   The Grave markers themselves are of interest also.  We20140727_125642 found this wooden marker among the aspens, surrounded by a weather worn and dilapidated wooden fence.  A five year old little girl.  I wonder at the cause of her death.  Was it an accident, disease, or something more traumatic.  The solemnity of cemeteries is conducive to thought and contemplation.  I always feel as if I’m communing with the spirits of those who went before.  Now I’m not a religious person in the slightest, yet I do believe people have an energy or spirit. Sometimes those spirits don’t chose to leave, preferring to stay behind and share with the living.

20140727_140701

After the cemetery, we went on up the mountain, exploring the back roads and mountains.  we spent nearly the whole day on the mountain, enjoying breathtaking views and clear fresh mountain air.  For me, best of all, I was able to spend all day with Jennifer.  Like I said she is able to put a smile on my face at any time, but especially when we’re together.

10541854_833558453329639_4800526201361896114_n

I’ll share more in the future, but for now, This seems to be a decent place to pause.

If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love.
              -Maya Angelou

