Tags

, , , ,

Image Curtesy of Orlova Maria

Silence, I may seek. 
All within a short hike. 
Small effort is required for civility.
Just a quick stroll away from urbanity. 
Never too distant, forever in view. 
Rewards are vibrant, colorful, clamorous and few.

Image  by Orlavo Maria via Unsplash

There are times, I feel the need to center myself, find my spirit, discover my vision, and see my dreams.  the best, however seldom easiest method for me, is to take a short stroll in natures edification.  Far from the hustle and bustle, leaving the uproarious highways and byways behind.  The trick is to seek out the silence, absorb it, take it all in, until my senses become clamorous with the sounds of nature.

A brisk walk along a grassy, or in these days, snowy hill.  Light mists hanging low, encompassing the surrounding hills, almost like natures own noise dampening buffer.  I can stop, stand still, smell the fragrances abundantly flavorful.  Then I simply close my eyes, take a deep breath, relaxing all the stresses and strains of life.  When I can hear the wind whispering in the trees, gently bustling the grass, a babbling creek somewhere off in the distance.  Perhaps a simple birdsong, chirping not too far away.  I open my eyes and find myself surrounded by a remarkable visions of beauty.

All for seeking The Sound of Silence. A Word Press Weekly Writing Challenge.

The Challenge

There are multiple ways of interacting with silence: purposefully leaving something unsaid, breaking the silence around a topic, or, quite simply, getting tongue-tied. For this week’s challenge, we want you to take the theme of silence and explore it in your own way.

At a loss for words? Here’s a few ideas to get you going this week:

Submissions by others;
Motivation; The Sounds of Silence 
The Shady Tree; A Silent Hunt
Dandelion’s Den; The Silent Treatment
Leanne Olivia Valley; An Open Letter to Grace
Davidswanto; Stop and Be Still
Lost In The Beauty Of Books; Sounds of Silence
101 Challenges In 1001 Days; The Sound of Silence
Wellbeing London; Silent Witness
Thedarkerandshadier; The Silent One
Fuzzy Undertones; Silence is never louder than when you should be asleep
Scent of Rina; Silence Between Us
Mushingmamablog; Feeling Silence
Café Reading; The Sound of Silence
OutmannedMommy; The Unbearable Sound of Silence
I’m Drew Llew, How do You Do; Thought Processing Center

