Tags

, ,

image

Sometimes I think Laredo, Texas should have its very own time zone. They certainly don’t pay attention to anyone else’s clock. To be fair, most of my issues have to do with Shippers and receivers. The problem is completely out of their control though. Being a border town, loads get held up at the bridge, Customs and Border Patrol.

Last night I had a 17:00 appointment to pick up my load. The product, avocados, took forever to get to the forwarding agency. No product, means they can’t load the trailers. I was there until 03:15, just sitting and waiting. More correctly, catching up on some sleep.
image

The scene was pretty impressive. Trucks lined both sides of the street for as far as you could see. I watched the sun go down over Laredo, and then was greeted by it this morning in Del Rio, while I took my required 30 minute break. Some day I’ll get into that whole mess, the new hours of service regulations.
image

It was pretty funny, I had a lot of traffic all night, while driving to Del Rio. Once the sun came up, and and I was beyond Del Rio, I only passed 37 vehicles in almost 200 miles. Of those 37, about 29 were Border Patrol vehicles.
image

I was beginning to think aliens, extraterrestrials, had visited and abducted everyone. Leaving only those in government. Now that’s a scary thought, then again, maybe not.

Posted from WordPress for Android

