Tags

, , ,

20131004_134028I’m back in the land of dilapidated windmills, aging farms houses, falling down barns, tumbleweeds and of course tombstones. 

I know the picture is not of that area, but it is one I like, and it’s mine.  It was actually taken in one of the many scenic rest areas in Utah on I-70.  You have no idea, or maybe you do, how hard it is to find open source images of tumbleweeds and tombstones.

Driving the back roads of Texas, is seldom completely boring.  Granted, some times you have to use a little creative thinking, but it can be interesting.  There is always a dilapidated old farm house, ramshackle barns, aging weary windmills, along with the tumbleweeds and tombstones.  I have always been pretty keen on cemeteries and tombstones, (Thank you Gorgeous) and of course tumbleweeds have invariably intrigued me.  At one time I was going to name this blog Tumbleweed Express, but that name was already taken; along with just about every other tumbleweed name you can think of. 

Someday, I’m going to take the extra time and check out some of those cemeteries.  The ones that really intrigue me are the tiny little ones next to an old abandoned church or along the outskirts of a small town.  My curiosity can at times get away from me, and I find myself tempted to stop, but usually I simply don’t have the time.  I guess I will have to plan my trips a little better so I can do my little breaks at some of those cemeteries.  Of course there also the larger ones that have really incredible tombstones, or have an interesting topography.  I would love to spend some time reading the inscriptions, imagining the lives they held, pondering the deaths that befell them.  It is a little hard to explain, and sometimes I think it makes me sound a little nuts, but; I feel an attachment to the spirits of hallowed ground.  I enjoy exploring, listening to the wind whisper, telling their secrets, allowing my mind to wander in the past.

One thing that has always struck me as funny, is that Texas seems to have more historical roadside markers than any other state.  The Chisholm Trail seems to be a very prevalent topic on many of these historical markers.  Yes I have stopped at many to assuage my curiosity and stretch these long lanky legs.  I do find them informative, and sometimes learn a tid bit or two I didn’t know.  I read them whenever I stop at a historical marker, after all someone went through the trouble of putting them out there. 

Well, I guess that is enough for today, I’ll be working on more posts in the near future.  Sorry for the rambling nature of this one, I seem to be getting sidetracked quite a bit today.  I had planed on getting all descriptive of those old farms and windmills, maybe tomorrow.

