Tags

, ,

image

” True silence is the rest of the mind, and is to the spirit what sleep is to the body, nourishment and refreshment. ”
William Penn

Silence is one of those commodities that seems to be taken for granted all too often. I find it to be the one thing I crave above all else while I’m training students. It is very hard to describe, and perhaps even harder to understand at times. The simple presence of another individual within my little sphere of existence can be a screaming cacophony of NOISE. Even if nary a word is ever spoken.

There are times when I am secluded on a never ending road to absolutely nothing, like the Salt Flats west of Salt Lake City. I feel crowded with raucous discourse . The totality of my silent prison is nearly deafening. The simple knowledge that I am locked into this little space I call home with another person is an ardent asault on my solitude. It feels like a most intrusive invasion of basic privacy.

