Bear Lake in Utah is one of the prettiest areas of the state. I recently had a load running from Pennsylvania to Logan Utah. The route took me through Bear Lake and over the Mountains on US 89. This was probably the first time I have been on the road when there was no snow.

It is a fairly treacherous run, climbing to 7729 feet, and then corckscrewing its was down through Logan Canyon. It is a narrow winding highway through about 50 miles of beautiful countryside. The roadway runs right alongside a creek, complete with beaver dams and all. Thick pine trees and steep hillside cliffs provide the only boundaries.

The route save about 100 miles but takes a little longer. It is one of my favorites because there is a feel of home, there among the Mountains. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to stop and get some pictures. Maybe next time.

