Tags

image

Thanksgiving is over, and yes winter is definitely here. It’s that time of year I love, yet don’t look forward to driving. The roads become just a little treacherous.

I find myself more concerned with the capabilities of other drivers around me, more than the conditions of the road. Already this year I have been held up in an accident on I-80 for 5 hrs. The sad part is, the whole thing could have been avoided.

I had started out from Cheyenne, Wyoming, headed to west. The road had been closed all night, and just opened. As I started out, I took note of the icy conditions, and adjusted my speed to a suitably safe rate. All of a sudden, about 15 trucks flew past me like I was sitting on jack stands. Thinking to myself, ”they’re going to be in the ditch before long”, I continued on at my nice safe slow speed. About 70 miles down the road I came to find my predictions accurate.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

If they had only slowed down and used a little common sense, the whole thing could have been avoided. Of course my Father always said that common sense was mis-named, if it was so dam common, everyone would have it.

