Photo of Wilson Arch. It is located about 24 m...

Photo of Wilson Arch. It is located about 24 miles south of Moab, Utah, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have driven through Moab, Ut. a good half dozen times. Never once has it been during the daylight hours.  That is until this last week…I was being stubborn, and wanting to drive a little bit during the day. Planning out the trip I could see we would hit Albuquerque, NM about 01:00.  The company does not like the apprentices to drive between 01:00 and 04:00, which is the reason I am always driving those hours.  On this trip, I would be able to run the first leg, and then let my apprentice take over later in the evening. So I stole the opportunity, and took full advantage of it.

I finally got to see what I had been missing all this time. The scenery is absolutely amazing. Even better, I was able to go through there as the sun was making it’s decent for the day. The colors being set in vibrant acuity as the sun slowly passed over the horizon. The rock cliffs, appear like huge mounds of ice cream that have been scooped out and stacked two and three levels high.  Soft pastel colors that meld seamlessly, and come to life as the suns angle changes during its afternoon decent.

My only regret on this trip was that I could not take a little time to explore. A wonderful place to add to my list of to be explored localities. A list that grows ever longer the more I train and run team. 

I dream of the day I will be able to afford to run solo, and take the time I desire to explore and experience all that is on my list. The day will come, I do have faith in that.

Quote of the day:
“I can think of nothing less pleasurable than a life devoted to pleasure.” – John D. Rockefeller

