Tags

, , , ,

A sunset in the Arizona desert near Scottsdale...

A sunset in the Arizona desert near Scottsdale. The climate and imagery are two factors behind Arizona’s tourism industry. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A full moon beckons, calling out to my wandering nature, promising an eventual return.  Slowly it sinks, sliding behind the deathly black, craggy, spires of southern Arizona mountains. The desert, vacant and seemingly void of life, begins a fitful transformation.  The changing of the celestial guards, painfully slow yet so masterfully accomplished. 

Eventually the sky turns a subtle shade of blue as the sun endeavors to clear it’s own horizon. Banishing the lady of the night to her abode for the remainder of this long day.  flaming, bright colors replace the softer pastels and shades of grey. The rising sun begins to light the low hanging clouds, catching reflections off moisture that shall never touch the desert floor. Another new sunrise, in yet again a new locality.

This is one of the main reasons I so love the path I have chosen. I am an over the road truck driver, and travel the lower 48 states.  Everyday I am in a new place, seeing new and different landscapes.  Best of all though, are always the sunsets and sunrises.  The stunning and picturesque scenes painted before my eyes at each dawning day are absolutely breathtaking.  The freedoms of the open road nourish my gypsy soul, satisfying my wanderlust.

I decided it was time to start sharing once again what I see and live each day.  In the past, I have had a number of blogs, mostly on Blogger.  This time, I will have just this one, with the exception of posting an update, announcing the new blog, I will shut those others down. I have not decided on a posting schedule as yet, I would love to publish once a day, but can’t possible promise that.  At least a couple times a week though, I will post articles, summing up the visions of the week, and sharing a few stories of the road.

I have much to do with this blog as yet, and little time to accomplish it in.  But look forward to an about page for both the blog and myself, an introduction if you will. I will be creating link pages focusing on information about the trucking industry, it’s regulatory issues, and friendly sites like other truckers blogs. Until then, welcome, please feel free to follow this blog by joining the Gypsy Clan.

“Over the road trucking is not just an occupation, it’s a way of life, a culture all it’s own” 

 

